jakub | February 8, 2024

Pantera and Lamb of God Destroy the Amalie Arena In Front of a Packed House in Tampa, Florida on February 5, 2024


The Amalie Arena was packed to the rafters on Monday, February 5, 2024, to see metal icons Pantera and Lamb of God. At 7:00 pm the show opened with the St. Louis metal trio, Nest. The passion of the crowd grew from the first note and escalated until the last note was struck after Pantera’s encore. It was a Monday night, the weather was crisp and clear and the metal fans came out in groves sporting black t-shirts with their favorite band’s logos on them. The energy was electric and hung in the air as the arena filled with fans coming to see these two metal powerhouses on the same bill.

Nest is getting ready to release its fourth album and Housecore Records debut album, Endeavors due for release on April 12th, 2024. They came on stage and were spread out as a three-piece on the large stage. My thoughts were that maybe they would exert more energy if they were closer together. They looked like strangers on the stage and their set it was more about the music than entertaining the audience. Who could blame them as they were opening for two heavy hitters? 



Derek Bonn – Drums

John Jarvis – Guitar/Vocals

Derek Engemann – Bass




1. Gamut of Emotions

2. Suffering Builds Character

3. Can’t Pretend

4. Nice Slot

5. Time to Panic

6. Fall Guy

7. What’s the Issue?

8. Packaged Sweets

9. It’s True

10. Cheap Sunglasses  (ZZ Top cover)


Lamb Of God dropped a full stage curtain to start their show and Randy Blythe was on 11 from the very first moment. It was strange seeing a clean-cut Randy Blythe minus the signature dreadlocks flying through the air. There were times during the first three songs I saw Randy throw his head to elevate his hair, but that hair was no longer there. Similar to what I imagine, as an amputee might do waving a limb that has since been removed. It must have felt weird after having that signature as a part of his performance for so many years. As a photographer, I missed the dreadlocks too. Blyhe however treated us to a couple of his patented jumps and that made up for it!

The set was very tight as these men had been together for 30 years. They banged out 11 songs that incited the mob to a frenzy as the mosh pit started to grow in the crowd.



John Campbell – Bass

Randy Blythe – Vocals

Mark Morton – lead Guitar

Willie Adler – Rhythm Guitar 

Art Cruz – Drums 




1. Memento Mori

2. Walk With Me in Hell

3. Hourglass

4. Now You’ve Got Something to Die For

5. Resurrection Man

6. Ditch

7. Ruin

8. Contractor

9. Vigil

10. Laid to Rest

11. Redneck


Pantera came on stage at 9:45 pm. The stage was again covered by a large curtain and both projection screens played a video as the crowd watched in anticipation of seeing the band. “In Heaven” (Lady in the Radiator Song) by Peter Ivers & David Lynch blared over the PA system. At the end of the recording, the curtain dropped and Pantera was off and running and started with playing “A New Level” off the Vulgar Display of Power album that was released in 1992. Phil Anselmo and Rex Brown were the members still with the band, gone were brothers Vinnie Paul and Dimebag Darrell. Gone, but never forgotten as their portraits covered the two kick drums of new drummer Charlie Benante. Replacing Dimebag on lead guitar is the celebrated metal guitarist Zakk Wylde, who might be just the perfect replacement for the band to go on. Sure, Phil Anselmo is and will always be the face of Pantera, but Wylde brings a fan base of his own.

The set was pretty much in your face with loud and heavy guitar riffs and screaming vocals. It was a full-speed ride and nobody wanted off. Chris Jericho of Fozzy was in town after returning from his “Chris Jericho’s Rock ‘N’ Wrestling Rager at Sea” cruise and joined the band on stage to sing “Walk” with Anselino with the loud approval of the crowd.

As a side note, the crowd and crowd surfers were getting quite rowdy and security ushered us out of the photo pit before the end of the third song, cutting our concert shooting short. Just pryer to that I was kicked in the head by a crowd sufferer coming over the barrier which was a first for me. It was getting dicey behind us in the photo pit as fans surfed in and were caught by security guards when they came over the barrier.

The energy was over the top which was expected from a crowd this size surrounding the stage and they brought their metal attitudes, as they enjoyed the show!



Rex Brown – Bass, Backing Vocals

Phil Anselmo – Lead Vocals

Zakk Wylde – Guitars, Backing Vocals

Charlie Benante – Drums




Regular People (Conceit)

In Heaven (Lady in the Radiator Song)  (Peter Ivers & David Lynch song)

1. A New Level

2. Mouth for War

3. Strength Beyond Strength

4. Becoming  (with “Throes of Rejection” outro)

5. I’m Broken  (with “By Demons Be Driven” outro)

6. Suicide Note Pt. II

7. 5 Minutes Alone

8. This Love

9. Floods

10. Walk  (with Chris Jericho)

11. Domination / Hollow

12. Cowboys From Hell


13. Fucking Hostile

14. How Soon Is Now?







Follow Pantera Online:

Follow Lamb Of God Online:

Follow Nest Online:





Source link