jakub | November 6, 2023

Susan Stroman Hosts 2023 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony November 6 at the Gershwin


Susan Stroman Hosts 2023 Theater Hall of Fame Ceremony November 6 at the Gershwin

Presenters include Tony winners André De Shields and Jayne Houdyshell.

Susan Stroman
Heather Gershonowitz

The 52nd annual Theater Hall of
Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater induction
ceremony is held November 6 at Broadway's Gershwin Theatre.
Five-time Tony winner Susan Stroman hosts the evening.

As previously reported, the 2023 inductees include actors Mandy Patinkin (Evita, Sunday in the Park With George), Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago, Sweet Charity), Judd Hirsch (Conversations With My Father, I'm Not Rappaport), and Laurie Metcalf (Three Tall Women; A Doll's House, Part 2; Grey House); director JoAnne Akalaitis (former Public Theater artistic director); librettist John Weidman (Pacific Overtures, Assassins); composer Maury Yeston (Nine, Grand Hotel); and, posthumously, playwright Amiri Baraka (Dutchman, A Black Mass, Home on the Range and Police). (Patinkin is unable to attend the event due to his London concerts.)

Presenters are actors Jayne Houdyshell and André De Shields, director John Doyle, and producer Rick Elice.

Photos: 9 Wicked Secrets of the Gershwin Theatre

The Theater Hall of Fame was founded in 1970 by James M. Nederlander,
Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestreicher. To be eligible for nomination,
the theatre professional must have at least 25 years in the American
theatre, five major productions, or be a leader of Off-Broadway or a
regional theatre pioneer. The more-than-250 voters are past Hall of Fame
inductees as well as members of the American Theater Critics

The 2022 inductees included playwrights Lynn Nottage and Suzan-Lori
Parks; actors Christine Ebersole and Bill Irwin; director Frank Galati;
sound pioneer Abe Jacob; and, posthumously, playwright Ntozake Shange.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces the annual invitation-only event.

Source link