jakub | May 9, 2024

Brooks and Dunn at MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheater in Tampa, Florida on May 4, 2024




MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheater located in Tampa, Florida opened their concert season on May 4, 2024, and Brooks and Dunn, brought the Reboot 2024 tour with David Lee Murphy, and Earnest. The venue was full and the weather appeared perfect, with temperatures in the mid-80s under partly cloudy skies. Rain wasn’t in the forecast, but out of nowhere at around 8:50 pm, ten minutes before Brooks and Dunn were ready to take the stage, the wind picked up and so did the rain. But that didn’t stop the show and the crowd remained as rain in the Bay Area is always a threat in the spring and summer even if it’s by surprise. 

At 7:00 pm the show got kicked off when Ernest brought his band to the stage to perform a short seven-song set. Ernest found his fame as a songwriter for country greats Florida Georgia Line, Morgan Wallen, Chris Lane, Thomas Rhett, and Jake Owen. The set started with “Why Dallas,” “Kiss of Death,” and “Did It For The Story’ and wrapped up with his 2022 release, “Flower Shops” the title single off the album which made it to number 12 on the US Country Charts as well as going double platinum. Their set lasted just 30 minutes and the audience welcomed the performance with enthusiasm. 


Ernest  Vocals/Guitar




1.Why Dallas

2. Kiss of Death

3. Did It For The Story

4. Miami, My Amy  (Keith Whitley cover)

5. Would If I Could

6. I Went To College / I Went To Jail

7. Flower Shops


David Lee Murphy came out at 7:40 pm dressed in blue denim sporting a white Stetson and brought a bit more rock to his country performance. With a career spanning over 40 years, and two number-one country singles, “Dust on the Bottle” and “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright.” the crowd was ready. Along with his other hit song “Party Crowd”. Murphy did perform a lot of cover songs that he actually had co-written for other artists like Jason Aldean’s “Big Green Tractor”, Thompson Square’s “Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not”, and Kenny Chesney’s “Pirate Flag.” David Lee David Lee Murphy and his band played for a solid hour and could have played longer with his extensive catalog.




1.Big Green Tractor  (Jason Aldean cover)

2. The More I Drink  (Blake Shelton cover)

3. Why We Drink  (Justin Moore cover)

4. Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not  (Thompson Square cover)

5. Pirate Flag  (Kenny Chesney cover)

6. The Only Way I Know  (Jason Aldean cover)

7. Party Crowd

8. Dust on the Bottle


At about 9:05 pm Brooks and Dunn came on stage in the rain and the crowd exuberantly cheered and applauded these country music icons. The duo called it quits in 2009, but they continued their solo careers. Ten years later, they were inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame as they released their 11th studio album, Reboot that year. The Reboot Tour was launched in 2023 and after great success, they decided to extend the tour, and Reboot 2024, was in order. The setlist was definitely a greatest hits list covering their four decades making music together which included songs “Ain’t Nothing ‘Bout You”, “Hard Workin’ Man”, “My Maria” (B.W. Stevenson cover), and of course “Boot Scootin’ Boogie” which opened the encore and finished out the night with “Only in America”.

Even if you aren’t a staunch country music fan, Brooks and Dunn are legendary and everyone alive has had their ears blessed with their music at one time or another. Their songs have been a part of the country’s makeup and history since the early 1980s when they were charting singles as solo artists, and from 1990 when they combined forces to become a country music supergroup. They are the band that’s where all the cowboy folk go to boot scootin’ boogie!


 Kix Brooks – Vocals/Guitar

Ronnie Dunn – Vocals/Guitar




1.Brand New Man

2. Put a Girl in It

3. My Next Broken Heart

4. Mama Don’t Get Dressed Up for Nothing

5. We’ll Burn That Bridge

6. You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone

7. Ain’t Nothing ‘Bout You

8. Red Dirt Road

9. Lost and Found

10. Hard Workin’ Man

11. My Heart Is Lost to You  (Partial)

12. It’s Getting Better All the Time  (Partial)

13. That Ain’t No Way to Go

14. Play Something Country

15. Cowgirls Don’t Cry

16. Neon Moon

17. Rock My World (Little Country Girl)  (with harmonica solo)

18. Believe

19. My Maria  (B.W. Stevenson cover)


20. Boot Scootin’ Boogie

21. Only in America






Follow Brooks and Dunn Online:

Follow Ernest Online:

Follow David Lee Murphy Online:



Source link