jakub | December 4, 2023

Listen to Future Islands’ reflective new single ‘The Fight’

Ahead of the release of their new album in January, Future Islands have shared their latest new single, ‘The Fight’. Listen to the track below.

The Baltimore band’s seventh album ‘People Who Aren’t There Anymore’ is due to be released on January 26 via 4AD, and frontman Samuel T. Herring explained to NME recently that the album centres around his break-up with his partner, Swedish actress Julia Ragnarsson.

The reflective, mid-paced new song sees Herring singing: “I won’t fade away / I will face every day / As if it’s my last one / And I will keep you safe / Just like our past was / Fight for love every day”.

In August, the band returned with their first new music in 18 months, in the form of the single ‘Deep in the Night’, the album’s first single.

‘People Who Aren’t There Anymore’ track listing: 

1) King of Sweden
2) The Tower
3) Deep in the Night
4) Say Goodbye
5) Give Me the Ghost Back
6) Corner of My Eye
7) The Thief
8) Iris
9) The Fight
10) Peach
11) The Sickness
12) The Garden Wheel 

The last Future Islands full-length album was 2020’s ‘As Long As You Are’. In a four-star reviewNME described it as “maybe an unexpected handbrake turn for Future Islands”.

“It may not be as hit-laden as its predecessor, but it’s a refreshing record in its own right and one that throws up plenty of existential quandaries.”

Last month, Future Islands were confirmed to be playing at Bearded Theory 2024, with the Derbyshire festival taking place between May 23-26. Tickets can be bought here.

Future Islands have also confirmed a string of tour dates in Latin America for March 2024. The band will play:

MARCH 2024 

Saturday 16 – GUADALAJARA, Teatro Studio
Sunday 17 – MEXICO CITY, Vive Latino Festival
Tuesday 19 – LIMA, Centro de Covenciones Barranco
Thursday 21 – BOGOTA, Estereo Picnic Festival 

Source link