jakub | December 8, 2023

Live Recording of Stephen Sondheim’s Old Friends, With Bernadette Peters and More, Released December 8

Stephen Sondheim's Old Friends: A Celebration (Live at the Sondheim Theatre),
which was recorded live May 3, 2022, is available as a two-disc CD
set and in digital and streaming formats from First Night Records
beginning December 8 in both the U.S. and and the U.K.

and produced by Cameron Mackintosh, the 2022 gala was staged by Matthew
Bourne and Maria Friedman. The one-night-only event featured Shan Ako,
Christine Allado, Michael Ball, Rob Brydon, Ashley Campbell, Helena
Bonham Carter, Anna-Jane Casey, Petula Clark, Rosalie Craig, Janie Dee,
Judi Dench, Daniel Evans, Maria Friedman, Josefina Gabrielle, Louis
Gaunt, Amy Griffiths, Haydn Gwynne, Rob Houchen, Holly-Anne Hull,
Bradley Jaden, Bonnie Langford, Damian Lewis, Julia McKenzie, Ian
McLarnon, Julian Ovenden, Bernadette Peters, Sian Phillips, Jon Robyns,
Clive Rowe, Jenna Russell, Jeremy Secomb, Imelda Staunton, Charlie
Stemp, Matthew White, Gary Wilmot, and Michael D. Xavier plus students
from Mountview and The Royal Academy Musical Theatre Company.

READ: Old Friends and Animal Adoption: Inside Bernadette Peters' London Adventure

The recording, which includes a 16-page booklet with
color photography and essays by Mackintosh and David Benedict, is
produced by Lee McCutcheon, Stephen Metcalfe, and Mackintosh. Order Stephen Sondheim’s Old Friends by clicking here.

Stephen Sondheim’s Old Friends subsequently transferred to
the Gielgud Theatre, where it is currently playing a limited engagement
through January 6, 2024. The current cast features Tony winners
Bernadette Peters and Lea Salonga (Salonga is not featured on the
recording), plus Christine Allado, Clare Burt, Janie Dee, Damian
Humbley, Bradley Jaden, Bonnie Langford, Gavin Lee, Jason Pennycooke,
Joanna Riding, Jeremy Secomb, Jac Yarrow, Marley Fenton, and Beatrice
Penny-Touré. The company also includes Harry Apps, Bella Brown, Richard
Dempsey, and Monique Young

The track listing for the recording follows:

Disc One

1) “Opening – Side by Side” – Ashley Campbell, Rosalie Craig, Daniel
Evans, Josefina Gabrielle, Amy Griffiths, Bradley Jaden, Julia McKenzie,
Jenna Russell
2) “Introduction” – Cameron Mackintosh
3) “Comedy Tonight” – Rob Brydon, Clive Rowe, Gary Wilmot, Full Company
4) “Company” – Full Company
5) “The Little Things You Do Together” – Haydn Gwynne, Rob Brydon
6) “You Could Drive a Person Crazy” – Anna-Jane Casey, Janie Dee, Josefina Gabriel
7) “Live Alone and Like It” – Clive Rowe
8) “Loving You” – Michael Ball
9) “Getting Married Today” – Anna-Jane Casey, Holly-Anne Hull, Jon Robyns, Full Company
10) “Into the Woods” – Full Company
11) “Agony” – Julian Ovenden, Michael D. Xavier
12) “I Know Things Now” – Bernadette Peters
13) “Hello, Little Girl” – Bernadette Peters
14) “Children Will Listen” – Bernadette Peters
15) “A Weekend in the Country” – Full Company
16) “Send In the Clowns” – Judi Dench
17) “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd” – Michael Ball, Full Company
18) “The Worst Pies in London” – Michael Ball, Maria Friedman
19) “My Friends” – Michael Ball
20) “Pretty Women” – Michael Ball, Jeremy Secomb
21) “A Little Priest” – Michael Ball, Jeremy Secomb
22) “The Ladies Who Lunch” – Haydn Gwynne
23) “Sunday” – Daniel Evans, Bernadette Peters, Full Company

Disc Two

1) “Entr’acte – Overture from Merrily We Roll Along” – Orchestra
2) “Tonight Quintet” – Christine Allado, Shan Ako, Louis Gaunt, Rob Houchen, and Students from Mountview, The Royal Academy Musical Theatre Company
3) “Broadway Baby”  – Helena Bonham Carter, Rosalie Craig, Maria Friedman, Bonnie Langford,
Cameron Mackintosh, Julia McKenzie, Bernadette Peters, Jenna Russell,
Gary Wilmot, Full Company
4) “Everybody Ought to Have a Maid” – Rob Brydon, Julian Ovenden, Siân Phillips
5) “You Gotta Get a Gimmick” – Anna-Jane Casey, Bonnie Langford, Bernadette Peters
6) “Waiting for the Girls Upstairs” – Anna-Jane Casey, Bonnie Langford, Bernadette Peters
7) “I’m Still Here” – Petula Clark
8) “Could I Leave You?” – Michael Ball
9) “Buddy’s Blues” – Gary Wilmot
10) “The Boy From…” – Janie Dee
11) “Losing My Mind” – Bernadette Peters
12) “Everything’s Coming Up Roses” – Imelda Staunton
13) “Duelling Pianos”
14) “Not a Day Goes By” – Michael Ball, Rosalie Craig, Maria Friedman, Julia McKenzie, Bernadette Peters, Jenna Russell, Full Company
15) “Being Alive” – Rosalie Craig, Bradley Jaden, Julian Ovenden, Jenna Russell, Jeremy Secomb, Full Company
16) “Old Friends” – Full Company
17) “Our Time” – Students from Mountview and The Royal Academy Musical Theatre Company
18) “Love Is in the Air” – Stephen Sondheim


Check Out Photos of Stephen Sondheim's Old Friends in the West End

Source link