jakub | June 24, 2023

Seattle musician Stan Snow releases new full-length album “Into the Great Beyond” – Onstage Magazine.com

Seattle musician Stan Snow is a busy man. When he’s not playing with his acclaimed band The Sundogs, he’s creating vibrant new Indie Rock, Americana and Classic Rock music solo, albeit with a host of A-List collaborators. His new full-length album “Into the Great Beyond” features the likes of Abe Laboriel Jr. (Paul McCartney), Valerie Pinkston (Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston)Lyle Workman (Sting, Beck), and Ben Smith(Heart) among others. Through all of his work, a selfless wisdom pervades the lyricism, giving an uplifting, wholehearted energy to the seasoned, groove-heavy rock n’ roll on display.

Stan Snow is a singer/songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, composer, arranger, producer, engineer and filmmaker. In recent years he has released 4 albums with the Sundogs, and has recorded with Alan WhiteAbe Laboriel Jr.Lyle WorkmanValerie PinkstonLarry GoldingsGregg BissonetteBen SmithKeb’Mo’ and many others.

“Into the Great Beyond” finds Stan Snow‘s storytelling in full bloom as he takes on themes both universal and deeply personal with great ease. There are songs about Ukraine (Insanity Repeats), Covid/suvivalism (Chemical Fallacy), money laundering and drug running (Into the Great Beyond)…songs about the people we have lost (Gone Too Fast), hanging in there (Try), cheaters (Trouble), being present (Now), new relationships (Fight), being vulnerable (Guard), mind games (Jungle), dealing with challenging times (Change), and navigating transitions in life (Seasons).    

Stan expands on the background of this adventurous new release: “Into the Great Beyond is an adventure in sonic and lyrical landscapes. There are 12 songs on the album. Mostly Indie Rock and Americana, but with other styles brought in as needed. The musicianship includes Stan Snow, Abe Laboriel Jr. (Paul McCartney), Valerie Pinkston (Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston), Lyle Workman (Sting, Beck), and Ben Smith (Heart) among others.   

Each song is different. All songs were written and recorded in the order they appear on the album. “I wrote each song to satisfy the music fan within.” Snow said. “After I finished writing each tune, I would ask myself – ‘what do I want to hear now?’…and I would write the next tune based on what I was hearing in my head.

The transition from each song to the next is almost like a concept album.   Each track is like a movement in a suite or symphony. But instead of it being classical and/or instrumental, there are lyrics to every song.”   

“Into the Great Beyond” will arrive exclusively on Bandcamp on May 26, 2023. Lead single “Change”, featuring Abe Laboriel Jr., Lyle Workman and Valerie Pinkston, comes with an accompanying performance video. In true prolific form, Stan will be releasing music videos for each of this album’s twelve tracks. This is a must listen for any fans of Rock n’ Roll, Americana, Indie Rock, Classic Rock music.

About “Change”Stan Snow describes the track’s underlying meaning and how it musically came to life in the studio. “As our world changes day to day we have the opportunity to adapt and ask questions. Then, plot our course and our next move, in order to stay on the track that is most meaningful to us. Part of that process involves reassessing the way that we think. Should we change our mind about something? Are we too quick to judge? Is our way of thinking helpful or not? If people were more open minded and willing to see things from other’s perspectives, would there be less conflict?

Abe, Lyle and Valerie are on this song. All 3 are fantastic! Abe flat out nails the groove and plays some amazing fills. Lyle plays a world class guitar solo. And Valerie sings beautifully, as always.

I am playing a Kurzweil PC-88mx keyboard/grand piano setting by Keyscape, a Music Man StingRay 5-string electric bass, an orchestral string section via Spitfire, a Wurlitzer electric piano and a Hammond B-3 organ by Arturia.”

Watch the music video for “Change”.
Listen or purchase the “Into the Great Beyond” album exclusively on Bandcamp.

Musician Names/Instruments:        
The musicianship includes Stan Snow, Abe Laboriel Jr. (Paul McCartney), Valerie Pinkston (Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston), Lyle Workman (Sting, Beck), and Ben Smith (Heart) among others.

Valerie Pinkston has performed or recorded with Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, Ray Charles, Diana Ross, Annie Lennox, Jason Mraz, James Taylor, Luther Vandross and many others.  She was on the Grammys this year performing with Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson and Chris Stapleton.

1.    Guard                        
2.    Chemical Fallacy         
3.    Now                 
4.    Fight                  
5.    Gone Too Fast         
6.    Insanity Repeats        
7.    Trouble            
8.    Into the Great Beyond    
9.    Jungle                
10.    Try                
11.    Change            
12.    Seasons            
13.    Jungle (AltMix)        

Official Website:  https://sundogsmusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SundogsMusicBand/
Bandcamp: https://stansnow.bandcamp.com
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/Sundogs

Artist Biography:
Stan Snow is best known as the co-founder of SundogsMusic.com.   He is a singer/songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, composer, arranger, producer, engineer and filmmaker based in Seattle.  In recent years he has released 4 albums and 48 videos with the Sundogs, and has recorded with Alan White (Yes, John Lennon), Abe Laboriel Jr. (Paul McCartney), Lyle Workman (Sting, Beck), Valerie Pinkston (Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston), Larry Goldings (James Taylor), Gregg Bissonette (Ringo Starr), Ben Smith (Heart), Keb’ Mo’ and many others.  

Source link